Back to News

JUNE 10, 2006


Falls Township Fie Co. #1 (Station 30),
Falls Township, Bucks County, Pa.

On Saturday, June 10, 2006, a crew of Lawrence Road Fire Co. volunteers stood by with Rescue 22 and Car 22-1 for over 12 hours at the firehouse of Falls Township Fire Co. #1 (Bucks County Station 30) in Falls Township, Pa., while members of that company attended the annual Bucks County Firemenís Parade in Quakertown, Pa.

The standby ran from 7 a.m. until about 7:30 p.m.

Rescue 22 was commanded by Capt. Michael Byrd and driven by Assistant Chief Shaun Dlabik, with a crew that included Ff. Ryan Dlabik, Ff. Steven Hodgdon, Ff. R.J. Laird and Ff. Mark Lenarski Jr. Car 22-1 was driven by Deputy Chief Chris Pangaldi.

Little more than five minutes after Rescue 22 arrived at the Falls firehouse, Station 30ís tones dropped for a reported vehicle fire at the intersection of Tyburn Road and New Falls Road.

Rescue 22 immediately responded and arrived to find that a Pontiac Grand Am had struck a Ford Explorer that had broken down on the side of the road.

The Grand Amís driver was allegedly trying to escape from Falls Township police and was reportedly doing about 70 mph when he crashed and the Grand Am caught fire.

The driver and passenger suffered only minor injuries. They jumped out of the wreckage of the Grand Am and ran off, but were arrested by police a short time later.

Police officers using dry chemical extinguishers knocked down the fire in the Grand Am before Rescue 22 arrived.

Firefighters made sure the blaze was out, disconnected the carís battery as a precaution, and then applied speedie dry to absorb anti-freeze and other fluids spilled on the roadway.

That was the only assignment received during the standby.

While Rescue 22 was in Pennsylvania, however, Telesquirt 22 and Engine 22 responded to a working fire in the house at 271 Fountayne Lane in Lawrence, then Telesquirt 22 assisted at the scene of a two-vehicle accident at the intersection of Route 1 and Franklin Corner Road.

All photos copyright (c) 2006 by Michael Ratcliffe.

Top of page